Motor Fuel Tax (Gasoline Tax):

Each city and county receives a distribution from the amount of fuel tax collected statewide.  By law, net proceeds of the tax are apportioned between counties, cities and the state according to Article IV, Section 30(a) of the Constition of the State of Missouri as follows:

10% counties

15% cities

75% state

Effective July 1, 1994 an additional 5% of any increased tax rate is deposited to the County Aid Road Trust (CART) Fund, with 5% of the additional 5% distributed to St. Louis City.

Cities receive their distribution of the state fuel tax based on population.  The last federal decennial census is used for this calculation.

Counties receive their distribution of the state fuel tax based on 50% on county road mileage and 50% on the rural land valuation.

Festus City Hall
711 West Main
Festus, MO 63028
Fax: 636-937-2140
Open 8a - 5p M - F

Police & Fire
Dispatch:  636-937-3646

Police Department
100 Park Ave.
Festus, MO 63028
Records: 636-937-5184
Fax: 636-937-8086

Fire Department
212 North Mill Street
Festus, MO 63028
Firehouse: 636-937-7661

Public Works
950 North Fifth Street
Festus, MO  63028
Fax: 636-937-6619
Open 7:30a - 4:30p M-F

400 W. Main Street
Festus, MO  63028
M - Th 9:00a - 7:00p
Fri 9:00a - 5:00p
Sat 9:00a - 1:00p